20 Opposition Parties to Boycott Parliament Inauguration


Team Clarion

NEW DELHI — A total of 20 parties are boycotting the inauguration of the new Parliament House complex on Sunday as 19 Opposition parties in a joint statement called the inauguration by Prime Minister Modi “not only a grave insult but a direct assault on our democracy”. 

While the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) is attending the inauguration fully, only five non-NDA parties from the Opposition camp are attending the function.

Opposition parties maintain that they were open to the new Parliament House but are opposed to inauguration by Modi.

Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar on Saturday criticised the BJP-led Central government, saying an attempt is being made to change the history of the country, while wondering if there was any need for a new Parliament building.

Noting that the inauguration of the Parliament building is a momentous occasion, the opposition parties in a joint statement said, “Despite our belief that the government is threatening democracy, and our disapproval of the autocratic manner in which the new Parliament was built, we were open to sinking our differences and marking this occasion”.

The parties said that the President is not only the Head of State, but also an integral part of Parliament as she summons, prorogues, and addresses it.

“In short, Parliament cannot function without the president. Yet, the prime minister has decided to inaugurate the new Parliament building without her. This undignified act insults the high office of the president, and violates the letter and spirit of the Constitution. It undermines the spirit of inclusion which saw the nation celebrate its first woman Adivasi President,” said the parties in he joint statement.

List of parties boycotting the parliament inauguration

     1. Congress (81 MPs)
     2. DMK (34 MPs)
     3. Shiv Sena-UBT (seven MPs)
     4. AAP (11 MPs)
     5. Samajwadi Party (six MPs)
     6.  CPI (four MPs)
     7. JMM (two MPs)
     8. Kerala Congress-Mani (two MPs)
     9. Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi (one MP)
     10. Rashtriya Lok Dal (one MP)
     11. Trinamool Congress (35 MPs)
     12. Janata Dal (United) (21 MPs)
     13. NCP (nine MPs)
     14. CPI-M (eight MPs)
     15. RJD (six MPs)
     16. IUML (four MPs)
     17. NC (three MPs)
     18. RSP (one MP)
     19. MDMK (one MP)
     20. AIMIM (two MPs)

List of Opposition parties attending the inauguration

     1. Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas) (one MP)
     2. BJD (21 MPs)
     3. BSP (10 MPs)
     4. TDP (4 MPs)
     5. YSRCP (31 MPs)

(With media inputs)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:




More like this

JNU Campus Walls Defaced with Anti-Modi Slogans

NEW DELHI - Controversy has erupted once again at...

Afghanistan Embassy in India Ceases Operations from Today Onwards, Cites Lack of Support

NEW DELHI - The Afghanistan Embassy in India has...

Congress Sees in Danish Ali Episode Opportunity to Reach to its Lost Vote Bank

LUCKNOW - Amid the controversial row over the use...