US Designates Pakistan, China, Russia as Religious Freedom Violators


NEW YORK — US Secretary of State Antony Blinken has designated Pakistan, China, Russia and 9 others as religious freedom violators labelling them as “Countries of Particular Concern” (CPC).

On Friday, Blinken announced that he was giving them and nine others the designation “for having engaged in or tolerated particularly severe violations of religious freedom”.

According to ANI report, Blinken in a statement announced the names of countries designated as CPC, under the International Religious Freedom Act of 1998, which include Myanmar, China, Cuba, Eritrea, Iran, Nicaragua, the DPRK, Pakistan, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Tajikistan and Turkmenistan.

He called out those countries under the International Religious Freedom Act (IRFA) which requires the government to hand out the designations periodically.

Designating them as CPCs opens them to several penalties like cancellation of official visits and cultural and scientific exchanges, suspension of aid and ban on import and export agreements, but which are not mandatory.

Blinken issued a general alert to all countries that they will be monitored and will raise concerns with even those not on the list.

“We will continue to carefully monitor the status of freedom of religion or belief in every country around the world and advocate for those facing religious persecution or discrimination.

“We will also regularly engage countries about our concerns regarding limitations on freedom of religion or belief, regardless of whether those countries have been designated,” he added.

The sanctions under the IRFA are not automatic and as a practical matter are unlikely to be applied across the board to Pakistan or Saudi Arabia.

Some of these sanctions are already in force against China and Russia, as well as those put on the list on Friday — Iran, Myanmar, Cuba, North Korea and Nicaragua — over other issues.

The other countries on the list are Eritrea, Tajikistan and Turkmenistan.

The Taliban and eight other groups, including the Russian mercenary outfit Wagner Group, were given a similar designation as “Entities of Particular Concern”.

Three other countries, the Central African Republic, Comoros, and Vietnam, were given less serious treatment by being put on the “Special Watch List for engaging in or tolerating severe violations of religious freedom”.

Blinken did not expand on the specific reasons for designating each of those countries.

Explaining the designations, he said: “Around the world, governments and non-state actors harass, threaten, jail, and even kill individuals on account of their beliefs. In some instances, they stifle individuals’ freedom of religion or belief to exploit opportunities for political gain.” — IANS (Inputs added)

Share post:


More like this

NTA Top Leadership Under Scanner, No Paper Leak in CSIR-NET: Dharmendra Pradhan

Amid a raging row over irregularities in the medical...

MP: Dispute Over Bhojshala-Kamal Maula Masjid Complex After Idol Discovery Claim

DHAR — A Hindu leader on Saturday claimed idols related...

98 Indians Among Hundreds Dead During Hajj Pilgrimage in Mecca: MEA

According to reports, more than 900 pilgrims have died...

NEET Row: Committee Formed Under Ex-ISRO Chief For Smooth Conduct of Exams

The committee will work under the Chairmanship of K....