King Faisal International Prize Presented to Winners


Faisal-International-PrizeRIYADH –  Custodian of the Two Holy Mosques King Salman presented this year’s King Faisal International Prize recipients with their awards at a brief but glittering ceremony at Riyadh’s Al Faisaliah Hotel, attended by foreign ambassadors, members of the Saudi royal family, and senior government officials.

The King received each recipient in turn, presenting them with their awards and posing for a photograph with each.

This year’s recipients were Dr Zakir Naik for Services to Islam, Dr Abdulaziz bin Abdulrahman Kaki for Islamic Studies, Professor Jeffrey Ivan Gordon for Medicine, and Professors Michael Grätzel and Omar Mwannes Yaghi jointly recognized for Science, and were introduced by the Secretary General of the King Faisal International Prize Abdullah Bin Saleh Al-Uthaimin.

The ceremony featured short videos outlining the work of the recipients, with each making a short speech after receiving their award.

During his acceptance speech, Dr Naik of India announced he would be donating his entire monetary award of SR750,000 to Assalam TV, the English language Islamic television channel he founded and is being recognized for with this year’s Services to Islam award.

Dr Kaki said the prize would be an “incentive for me to complete what I have started.”

Professors Grätzel and Yaghi both acknowledged the contributions of their coworkers and students, and thanked them during their acceptance speeches.

Throughout the rest of the week, this year’s winners will be giving public lectures at a number of Riyadh’s institutes and universities, including the King Abdulaziz City for Science and Technology, and the King Faisal Foundation Building.

The winners of the 37th King Faisal International Prize were announced earlier this month during a ceremony in the capital.

Usually there are five awards each year, including an award for Arabic Language and Literature, but according to the King Faisal Foundation that administers the Prize, the award in the language category was withheld this year because of “incomplete fulfilment of the prize requirements.”

Prize recipients each receive a gold medal, a certificate hand written in Arabic calligraphy summarizing the laureate’s work, and an endowment of SAR750,000.

The King Faisal Foundation website describes the Prize’s aim as benefiting Muslims in the “present and future,” inspiring participation in “all aspects of civilization”, and enriching “human knowledge and develop mankind.” — HA/IINA

Clarion India - News, Views and Insights about Indian Muslims, Dalits, Minorities, Women and Other Marginalised and Dispossessed Communities.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:




More like this

Pro-Khalistani Protesters Attack Indian Consulate in San Francisco

Clarion India WASHINGTON -- A group of pro-Khalistani protesters on...

Everyone Has the Right to be Heard, Rahul Cites Articles 14 and 21

Congress leader has sought Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla's...

NIA Arrests Kashmiri Journalist Irfan Mehraj

“While conmen are given a free run in Kashmir,...

Criticism of Government isn’t Criticism of Nation, Says Pawan Khera

The government is doing this drama because they are...