Owaisi’s AIMIM Retains All Seven Seats in Hyderabad 

AIMIM President Asaduddin Owaisi along with his party candidate Ahmad Balala during door-to-door campaign in Malakpet assembly constituency. —  (Image Facebook/@Asaduddinowaisi)

The AIMIM had fielded eight candidates for Telangana assembly, all in Hyderabad, and declared support to the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) in the rest of the state.

Caravan News

HYDERABAD — Maintaining its grip on Hyderabad politics, All India Majlis-e-Ittehad-ul Muslimeen (AIMIM) repeated the history in Telangana assembly elections by bagging seven seats on Tuesday. Among the main leaders of AIMIM, Akbaruddin Owaisi  was re-elected from Chandrayangutta constituency for the fifth consecutive term.

Akbaruddin defeated Shahejadi Sayyad of BJP by the margin over 80 thousands votes.

The other winners of the AIMIM are Mumtaz Ahmed Khan (Charminar), Ahmed Pasha Quadri (Yakutpura), Jaffar Hussain (Nampalli), Ahmed Bin Abdullah Balala (Malakpet), Moazzam Khan (Bahadurpura) and Kausar Mohiuddin (Karwan).

In all seven wining seats AIMIM defeated 3 BJP, 2 TRS (Telangana Rashtra Samithi), 1 Congress and 1 Telugu Desam candidates.

However party’s eighth candidate Mirza Rahmat Baig, failed to win the Rajendranagar seat where Tolkanti Prakash Goud of TRS defeated him. Baig got 43986 while Goud got 86841 votes.

The AIMIM had fielded eight candidates, all in Hyderabad, and declared support to the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) in the rest of the state

Briefing the media, Assaduddin Owaisi, AIMIM chief and MP from Hyderabad constituency said, “the people of Telangana and Hyderabad have rejected, opportunistic, divisive and communal politics of both Congress and BJP. People of Hyderabad rejected Rahul Gandhi’s lies when he said AIMIM is C Team of BJP. Rahul Gandhi should now at least learn some humbleness and stop using this kind of language. He should introspect what he and his party couldn’t do which we have done in Telangana.”

“This nation deserves a leader like K Chandrasekhar Rao. Definitely I will stand shoulder to shoulder with him, ensuring that in the next 2019 parliament elections, there will be a non-Congress and non-BJP government at the Centre.

“My best wishes to Chandrasekhar. We will play very crucial role in 2019 general elections. I hope we will do much better for the people of Telangana,” Owaisi said.

Besides seven Muslim candidates of AIMIM, only one more Muslim Shakil Aamir Mohammed of TRS has won the seat from Bodhan. Shakil defeated Congress’s Sudarshan Reddy Podduturi. Total strength of Muslim legislators in new Telangana Assembly stands at 8.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here