Karnataka By-Polls Results: Congress-JDS Alliance Wins 4, BJP 1


JD(S) leader and Karnataka Chief Minister-designate H D Kumaraswamy presents a bouquet to Congress president Rahul Gandhi during a meeting at latter’s residence in New Delhi on Monday. Former Congress president Sonia Gandhi is also seen. — PTI

Caravan News

BENGALURU — The ruling Congress-JDS alliance has won four out of five seats that went to poll here on Saturday. The counting of votes in the three Lok Sabha and two Assembly seats began Tuesday morning. Congress has snatched the Ballari Lok Sabha seat from BJP with a margin of 2.43 lakh votes besides retaining the Jamkhandi Assembly seat. Its ally JDS has retained the the Mandya Lok Sabha seat and Ramanagara Assembly seat. On the other hand, BJP has managed to retain the Shivamogga Lok Sabha seat. However, its victory margin here has come down to around 52,000 votes while in the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, the party had won the seat with a margin of 3.63 lakh votes.


Karnataka By-polls Results
Constituency Winners Party Previous Winner Party
Shivamogga (Lok Sabha) Raghavendra BJP BJP
Ballari (Lok Sabha) VS Yugrappa Congress BJP
Mandya (Lok Sabha) LR Shivaramegowda JDS JDS
Ramanagara (Assembly) Anitha Kumaraswamy JDS JDS
Jamkhandi (Assembly) Anand Siddu Nyamagouda Congress Congress

Updated at 1:40 PM

Shivamogga is stronghold of Karnataka BJP chief and former chief minister BS Yeddyurappa while Ballari is seen as the backyard of mining baron Reddy brothers. Mandya has been the JD(S) stronghold.

Why By-Polls in Karnataka?

Both Shivamogga and Ballari Lok Sabha seats fell vacant after BJP veterans and MPs BS Yeddyurappa and B Sriramulu resigned to contest Assembly polls in May this year. The Mandya Lok Sabha seat was vacated after JDS MP CS Puttaraju was elected to the assembly.

Ramanagara Assembly seat went to poll as it was vacated by Chief Minister Kumaraswamy, who had won from both the Channapatna and Ramanagara seats. This time, his wife is contesting from the seat. The Jamkhandi assembly seat fell vacant after Congress MLA Siddu Nyamagouda died in a road accident in May. Congress has fielded his son Anand Nyamagouda.

How parties formed in Lok Sabha polls 2014 and Assembly polls 2018

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP had won 17 of Karnataka’s 23 parliamentary seats, including Shivamogga and Ballari. The Congress won 9 and Janata Dal (Secular) or JDS 2 seats.

In the 2018 Assembly elections, BJP had won 104 seats out of 224 followed by Congress which won 78 seats and JDS with 37 seats. Congress and JDS formed a post-poll alliance and formed the government leaving the single-largest party BJP which fell short of getting majority mark.

Significance of Karnataka By-Polls

If Congress-JDS alliance sweeps or even wins the majority of the five seats, the alliance will not only be bolstered for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls, Congress will get immediate boost for the Assembly elections being held in five states in the next four weeks. The party is contesting to oust BJP in three of them — Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh. Various opinion polls by media houses have already predicted a Congress victory in all the three states.

Clarion India - News, Views and Insights about Indian Muslims, Dalits, Minorities, Women and Other Marginalised and Dispossessed Communities.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:




More like this

BJP MP Introduces Bill to Repeal Waqf Act Despite Opposition in Rajya Sabha

Clarion India NEW DELHI - In a contentious session at...

Demonising Palestinian Men — Terrorists until Proven Otherwise

Khaled Beydoun When Edward Said wrote, “I am an Oriental...

FIR Against Rajasthan BJP MLA for Assaulting SC Community Member

Another complaint has been filed with the National Human...

UP: Muslim Teacher Axed in Hathras for Not Responding To ‘Ram Ram’ Greetings

Hathras District Magistrate Archana Verma has formed an inquiry...