BJP Retains Power For 3rd Consecutive Term in Arunachal Pradesh


ITANAGAR — The BJP retained power in Arunachal Pradesh for the third straight term by winning 36 seats, five more than the magic figure of 31 in the 60-member state assembly, for which elections were held on April 19.

The counting of votes is still underway in 24 centres in 24 districts across the northeastern state.

BJP candidates are leading on nine other seats — Along (East), Anini, Basar, Kalaktang, Kanubari, Mechuka, Miao, Namsai, and Nari Koyu (ST).

The National People’s Party (NPP) candidates won three seats and are leading in two seats while the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) candidates won one seat and are leading in two seats.

The People’s Party of Arunachal (PPA) candidates won two seats – Doimukh and Mebo.

Independent candidate Wanglam Sawin has won the Khonsa (East) seat while two other Independent candidates are leading in two other seats – Nampong and Thrizino-Buragaon. The Opposition Congress, which fielded candidates in 19 seats, is leading in the Bameng seat only.

After the ruling BJP won 10 seats unopposed, elections for the remaining 50 Assembly seats were held on April 19 along with the Lok Sabha elections in two Parliamentary seats in the state — Arunachal West and Arunachal East.

Besides Chief Minister Pema Khandu was elected unopposed from the Mukto Assembly seat and Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein from the Chowkham (ST) seat, the other eight BJP nominees who have been elected uncontested are Dasanglu Pul (Hayuliang-ST), Dongru Siongju (Bomdila), Techi Ratu (Sagalee), Hage Appa (Ziro-Hapoli), Jikke Tako (Tali), Nyato Dukam (Taliha), Mutchu Mithi (Roing), and Techi Kaso (Itanagar).

The five-year tenure of the outgoing 60-member Arunachal Pradesh Assembly expires on June 2.

Arunachal Pradesh Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Pawan Kumar Sain said that the counting of votes started at 6 a.m. simultaneously in 24 counting centres (48 counting halls) in 24 districts under tight security measures.

After counting the postal ballots, the counting of votes polled in the EVM (Electronic Voting Machine) started.

More than 2,000 officials have been appointed for the counting while the Election Commission has appointed 27 observers to supervise the process. A total of 489 micro-observers have also been appointed for the purpose.

Around 78 per cent turnout was recorded in the Parliamentary polls and 83 per cent in the Assembly elections on April 19.

Altogether, 133 candidates were in the fray for the 50 Assembly seats and 14 candidates for two Parliamentary constituencies.

The counting of votes in the two Parliamentary seats would be taken up on June 4 along with the rest of the country. -IANS

Share post:


More like this

Row Over NEET-UG: Grace Marks Given to 1,563 Candidates Withdrawn, Centre to SC

NEW DELHI — The Centre on Thursday told the...

Like PM Modi I am not Guided by God, as I am a Human Being, Says Rahul

WAYANAD - Congress leader Rahul Gandhi, who is in...

RSS has Become Irrelevant, What’s the Point of Speaking out Now: Congress on Bhagwat’s Remarks

Clarion India NEW DELHI - The Rashtriya Swayamsevak...

Dozens, Including Several Indian Workers, Dead in Kuwait Building Fire

NEW DELHI - External Affairs Minister S. Jaishankar on...