Site icon Clarion India

Adani Issue: BRS MPs Stay Away From Modi’s Lok Sabha Address

In Rajya Sabha, AAP, Shiv Sena (Thackeray faction) and BRS members staged a walkout after their adjournment notices were disallowed by the chair

Team Clarion

NEW DELHI — Sticking to their demand for a Joint Parliamentary Committee (JPC) to probe the Adani-Hindenburg issue, Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) members walked out of Lok Sabha on Wednesday when Prime Minister Narendra Modi was about to begin his address during the motion of thanks to the President’s address.

The BRS MPs also boycotted the President’s address on January 31.

The MPs said that since the Centre has not agreed to their demands to form a JPC on the Adani-Hindenburg issue, they have decided to walk out, media reports said.

In Rajya Sabha, members of the Aam Aadmi Party, Shiv Sena Thackeray faction and Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) also staged a walkout after their adjournment notices were disallowed by the chair.

Soon after laying of papers, Chairman Jagdeep Dhankhar said he has received four notices under Rule 267 from BRS member K Keshava Rao, AAP member Sanjay Singh and Shiv Sena members Sanjay Raut and Priyanka Chaturvedi and disallowed the same.

Rao stood up and raised an objection to Dhankhar’s remarks on Tuesday on their boycott of the House.

Sanjay Singh also sought a discussion on the Adani issue but was not allowed by the chair.

Soon, the BRS, Sena and AAP members walked out of the House.

The House started the discussion on the motion of thanks to the President’s address as there were no Zero Hour and Question Hour. 

“I have received four notices under Rule 267 from Sanjay Raut, K Keshava Rao, Sanjay Singh, and Priyanka Chaturvedi. I reiterate my stand. I have carefully gone through them. I do not find the notices in order. I am constrained not to allow them,” the chairman said.

On BRS member Rao’s anguish over the chairman’s remarks made on Tuesday, he said, “The kind of aggressive body language you are reflecting is most unfortunate. You have perhaps not had the occasion to go through what I said yesterday with a full sense of sublimity, sobriety and seriousness.”

Asking him to take his seat, he said, “This is not the way we conduct this House. What I said is on record, you can take recourse to rules. This is not the way to do it. I have conveyed my sentiments and these are the sentiments of millions of people.”

Dhankhar said for the first time in this country, a history of the “wrong type” has been created by engaging in a proclaimed boycott of the President.

“I would urge the members, we are sending a very dangerous signal to people. Their anger is beyond tolerance. Every time in the morning they see this spectacle of the House being plunged into disorder as part of a strategy,” the chairman said.

AAP and BRS members refused to relent. They created an uproar by raising slogans of “PM sadan mein aao. jawaab do. JPC se jaanch karao (PM should come to the House and answer and JPC probe should be ordered)” and later staged a walkout.

They later held a demonstration in front of the Gandhi statue on the Parliament premises.


Photo courtesy: Telegraph India

Exit mobile version