Telangana BJP MLAs Refuse to Take Oath before Akbaruddin Owaisi


HYDERABAD – The newly-elected BJP MLAs in Telangana Assembly on Saturday stayed away from State Assembly on the first day, protesting appointment of AIMIM MLA Akbaruddin Owaisi as the protem Speaker.

All eight MLAs of the saffron party boycotted the proceedings after a decision taken by state BJP president G. Kishan Reddy.

Kishan Reddy told media persons at BJP office that the Congress government appointed Akbaruddin Owaisi as protem Speaker under a secret deal with the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM).

He said that since Congress has a narrow majority in the Assembly and the government may collapse any time, it joined hands with AIMIM.

However, Kishan Reddy, who is also a union minister, claimed that Owaisi is not the senior most MLA.

The BJP also complained to Governor Tamilisai Soundararajan about his appointment.

T. Raja Singh was the first BJP MLA who had refused to take oath before Akbaruddin Owaisi.

In the previous Assembly too, he had refused to take oath before AIMIM’s Mumtaz Ahmed Khan, who had served as protem Speaker.

All eight BJP MLAs had gathered at the BJP office in the morning. Kishan Reddy felicitated them. Protesting against the decision of the party MLAs to attend the House, Raja Singh left the party office in a huff. He did not accompany them during their visit to the temple at historic Charminar.

The BJP MLAs also paid tributes to Dr B. R. Ambedkar at the statue at Tank Bund and were reportedly planning to proceed to the Assembly.

However, they dropped their plan on a direction from the party’s central leadership.

Following this, Kishan Reddy announced at a news conference that party MLAs will not take oath before Akbaruddin Owaisi. He said the party MLAs will take oath after a regular Speaker is elected. -IANS


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:




More like this

Govt Opened Floodgates for Firms like Patanjali to Deprive Local Communities: Congress

Clarion India NEW DELHI - The Narendra Modi government has...

Pasmanda Muslims Seek Action Against Mob Lynching and ‘Bulldozer Culture’ 

All India Pasmanda Muslim Mahaz Report highlights community backwardness,...

Jolt to BSP as Party’s Prominent Muslim Leader Guddu Jamali Joins SP

Akhilesh Yadav extends warm welcome, emphasises unity against divisive...

Lucknow Court Rejects Muslim Side’s Petition in Teele Wali Masjid Case

The controversy surrounding the mosque dates back to decades,...