LS Polls 2024: Six Muslims Secure Victory in Uttar Pradesh


Mohammad Alamullah | Clarion India

NEW DELHI – All six Muslim Lok Sabha candidates fielded by mainstream parties in Uttar Pradesh have emerged victorious.

Among the winners is Imran Masood, who contested from Saharanpur on a Congress ticket. “This victory is not just mine, but of every individual who believes in secularism and democracy,” Masood stated emphatically after his win.

Similarly, Maulana Muhibullah Nadvi, representing the Samajwadi Party, also secured a win in Rampur. “The people’s faith in us has been reaffirmed, and we will work tirelessly to honour their trust,” Nadvi said after trouncing Ghanshyam Singh Lodhi of the BJP with a total of 4.81 lakh votes, a margin of 89,370 votes.

Ziaur Rehman Barq, who contested from the Sambhal Lok Sabha seat, is on the path to victory as well. The Congress party’s candidate from Amroha, Kanwar Danish Ali, also achieved victory.

Reflecting on his triumphant journey, Ali said his suspension from the Bahujan Samaj Party was a turning point. “The support from the Congress party and the voters of Amroha has been overwhelming,” he said.

Afzal Ansari, a Samajwadi Party candidate, is leading in Ghazipur. Iqra Hasan, another Samajwadi Party candidate from the Kairana parliamentary seat, has also registered victory.

Before the elections, Imran Masood was affiliated with the Samajwadi Party, and Afzal Ansari was a Bahujan Samaj Party Member of Parliament. Danish Ali, formerly with the Bahujan Samaj Party, was suspended and later nominated by the Congress party, which led to his victory in Amroha.

Despite this success, the Bahujan Samaj Party, which fielded around 22 Muslim candidates, did not secure any seat. This outcome highlights a broader issue of representation, as only 78 Muslim candidates contested across the country under the Congress and other parties’ tickets. The Congress party itself offered tickets to just 19 Muslim candidates nationwide in this election.

With vote counting continuing, early trends indicate that the ruling NDA would form the next government. Nonetheless, the victory of these six candidates marks a noteworthy moment in this Lok Sabha election.

Share post:


More like this

Row Over NEET-UG: Grace Marks Given to 1,563 Candidates Withdrawn, Centre to SC

NEW DELHI — The Centre on Thursday told the...

Like PM Modi I am not Guided by God, as I am a Human Being, Says Rahul

WAYANAD - Congress leader Rahul Gandhi, who is in...

RSS has Become Irrelevant, What’s the Point of Speaking out Now: Congress on Bhagwat’s Remarks

Clarion India NEW DELHI - The Rashtriya Swayamsevak...

Dozens, Including Several Indian Workers, Dead in Kuwait Building Fire

NEW DELHI - External Affairs Minister S. Jaishankar on...