Site icon Clarion India

Significant Setback for BJP in Muslim-Majority Constituencies

The election results underscore Muslim voters’ critical role and reflect a broader trend towards supporting parties with inclusive policies.

Mohammad Alamullah | Clarion India

NEW DELHI – The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) faced a significant setback in the recent general elections, losing 30% of the seats with a majority of Muslim voters. According to a detailed Amar Ujala report, Muslim voters, typically supportive of secular parties, were notably more sensitive and alert this election cycle.

The report highlights Muslim voters’ pivotal role in determining the outcome in many parliamentary constituencies. The BJP’s controversial and misleading statements regarding Muslim reservations were cited as major factors influencing the voters. Prime Minister Narendra Modi and other BJP leaders had repeatedly accused the Congress of planning to redistribute reservations from Scheduled Castes (SC) and Scheduled Tribes (ST) to Muslims if elected. Conversely, the Congress warned that a BJP victory would lead to constitutional changes abolishing SC and ST reservations.

A breakdown of the results in constituencies with significant Muslim populations underscores this trend. In areas where Muslim voters comprise more than 50% of the electorate, the BJP’s losses were notable.

The Samajwadi Party (SP) saw a considerable gain, winning over three times more seats than in the last election. This shift suggests a growing support for parties perceived as more inclusive and secular.

In the 2019 elections, the BJP secured 46 out of 96 seats with more than 20% Muslim voters. The Congress won 11 seats in these areas. In constituencies with over 40% Muslim voters, the BJP managed to win 29 seats, with Trinamool Congress (TMC), Samajwadi Party-Bahujan Samajwadi Party (SP-BSP) alliance and Congress securing five seats each.

Uttar Pradesh, the state with the largest Muslim voter base, showed significant changes. Of the 28 seats with over 20% Muslim voters, the BJP’s hold was considerably reduced. In West Bengal, the BJP had previously won four out of 20 such seats.

Results Comparison

Constituencies with over 50% Muslim voters:

Karimganj: BJP retained

Dhubri: Shift from AIUDF to Congress

Barpeta: Shift from Congress to Asom Gana Parishad

Kishanganj: Congress retained

Srinagar: National Conference retained

Baramulla: Shift from National Conference to independent

Anantnag: National Conference retained

Malappuram: IUML retained

Ponnani: IUML retained

Lakshadweep: Shift from NCP to Congress

Baharampur: Shift from Congress to TMC

Murshidabad: TMC retained

Malda North: BJP retained

Malda South: Shift from BJP to Congress

Jangipur: TMC retained

Constituencies with 41% to 50% Muslim voters:

Secunderabad: BJP retained

Hyderabad: AIMIM retained

Arriya: BJP retained

Katihar: Shift from JDU to Congress

Ladakh: Shift from BJP to Independent

Bijnor: Shift from BSP to RLD

Nagina: Shift from BSP to Azad Samaj Party

Moradabad: Samajwadi Party retained

Rampur: Samajwadi Party retained

Sambhal: Samajwadi Party retained

Raiganj: BJP retained

Constituencies with 31% to 40% Muslim voters:

Duranga-Udal Gauri: BJP retained

Silchar: BJP retained

Purnia: Shift from JD(U) to Independent

Gurgaon: BJP retained

Udhampur: BJP retained

Kasargod: Congress retained

Vadakara: Congress retained

Kozhikode: Congress retained

Saharanpur: Shift from BSP to Congress

Kairana: Shift from BJP to SP

Muzaffarnagar: Shift from BJP to SP

Amroha: Shift from BSP to BJP

Meerut: BJP retained

Awla: Shift from BJP to SP

Bareilly: BJP retained

Bahraich: BJP retained

Shrawasti: Shift from BSP to SP

Haridwar: BJP retained

Chandni Chowk: BJP retained

Basirhat: TMC retained

Joynagar: TMC retained

Mathurapur: TMC retained

Diamond Harbour: TMC retained

These election results underscore Muslim voters’ critical role and reflect a broader trend towards supporting parties with inclusive policies.

Exit mobile version