Salman Ahmed is New President of Students Islamic Organisation

Mohammed Salman Ahmed has been elected as the national president of SIO.

A native of Maharashtra, Mohammed Salman Ahmed holds a masters degree in Engineering.

Clarion India

NEW DELHI — The Students Islamic Organisation (SIO) of India has elected Mohammed Salman Ahmed as national president. A native of Maharashtra, he holds a masters degree in Engineering. His election was held recently at a meeting in Vijayawada, Andhra Pradesh in which other office-bearers of SIO were also elected.

Elected delegates from all the state units gather every two years to elect the president, general secretary and members of the Central Council. This year the elections were held with special precautions due to the Covid-19 pandemic, with some parts of the election being conducted online.

SIO is a national students’ organisation – and the largest organisation of Indian Muslim students – spread across the length and breadth of the country, and visible in prominent campuses of India like JNU, HCU, Jamia, AMU and other state universities. SIO is primarily active on students’ welfare and education centric issues and challenges. In recent years it has consistently worked on issues related to access and quality of education, including raising questions regarding discrimination and prejudice in educational institutions.

Syed Ahmed Muzakkir, who was previously Director of SIO’s Centre for Educational Research & Training, was elected general secretary. Muzakkir holds a masters degree in Economics from the University of Malaysia.

The national secretaries who form part of the central leadership are Nihal Kidiyoor, Dr. Naseem Ahmed, Tahoor Anwar, Rameas EK, Musab Qazi, Fawaz Shaheen and Abdul Hafeez.

Members of the Central Advisory Council, the apex decision-making body of the organisation, were also elected. They are: Amjad Ali (Kerala), Dr. Talha Faiyazzuddin (Telangana), Abdullah Azzam (Bihar), Usama Hameed (AMU), Zulqarnain Haider (Delhi), Salman Khan (South Maharashtra), Musaddiq Mubeen (Rajasthan), Dr. Luqman Ahmed (Telangana), Osama Akram (Telangana), Shujauddin Fahad (North Maharshtra), Abdul Quddus Suhaib (Karnataka), Ehtesamul Abrar (Jharkhand) and Muhammad Saeed TK (Kerala).

All the office-bearers, including the president, will hold their posts for two years.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here