Opposition Uproar Over Pragya Thakur’s Oath in Lok Sabha

BJP MP Pragya Singh Thakur takes oath as a member of the 17th Lok Sabha. — Media photo

Caravan News

NEW DELHI — On the first day of the 17th Lok Sabha on Monday, newly elected parliamentarians took oath as members of the lower house. Prominent among the oath takers were Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Ministers Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh, Ravi Shankar Prasad, and Smriti Irani and also Pragya Singh Thakur from the BJP.

However, Lok Sabha witnessed protests and uproar as the Malegaon bomb blast case accused Pragya Singh Thakur, who is elected from Bhopal on BJP ticket, took oath with the added name of her guru as suffix in her name and invocation of her guru Poorna Chetnanand Avdheshanand Giri.

Opposition parties on Monday created ruckus in the Lok Sabha when Thakur addressed herself as, “I, Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur Poorna Chetnanand Avdheshanand Giri” while being sworn-in as the newly elected member of the lower House.

The Opposition members objected to the prefix Sadhvi and suffix Poorna Chetnanand Avdheshanand Giri saying that she was not using her real name, which was recorded in the documents that she had submitted while filing her nomination.

The newly elected MP from Bhopal, however, insisted that she was using the name she had mentioned in her nomination papers. This led to a brief disruption in the swearing-in process.

Pro tem Speaker Virendra Kumar then asked Thakur to take oath in her name mentioned in her election victory certificate. The Lok Sabha officials informed Thakur that there was provision of swearing-in the name of either “God or the Constitution”.

After two interruptions, the BJP leader finally took oath in Sanskrit and at the end raised the slogan, “Bharat Mata ki Jai”.

The religious slogans such as “Jai Shri Ram” were also reportedly raised during oath taking process in the Lok Sabha which were objected by some legislators.

“This is not the right place for raising religous slogans, they can do that at temples,” ANI quoted Navneet Kaur Rana, an independent parliamentarian from Amravati in Maharashtra, as saying.

Prominent and senior opposition members including Congress President Rahul Gandhi also took oath as members of Lok Sabha on Monday.

Oath taking ceremony, however, will continue tomorrow for the remaining elected members of the House.

Join the Conversation

Readers are invited to comment and share their feedback. Messages with foul language, abuse or inciting hatred and violence are unacceptable and will be deleted. The views expressed in the Comments section are those of individuals writing the post. Caravan does not endorse or share the views in these posts in any manner.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here