Imran Masood Navigates Saharanpur’s Complex Politics Successfully


The Congress nominee trounces BJP’s Raghav Lakhanpal by a margin of 64,542 votes.

Mohammad Alamullah | Clarion India

NEW DELHI – Imran Masood, the winning Congress candidate from Saharanpur in Uttar Pradesh, has been able to keep alive his family’s political legacy. He trounced his nearest BJP rival Raghav Lakhanpal by a margin of 64,542 votes.

The win consolidates Masood’s political presence in the region, marking a remarkable achievement amidst the diverse and ever-changing political dynamics of Saharanpur.

Saharanpur, known for its rich cultural heritage and religious diversity, has a complex political history. No single party or leader has maintained a consistent hold over the constituency for an extended period. Since 1984, when the Congress last won an election here, Saharanpur has witnessed a succession of victories by various parties, including Janata Dal, BJP, BSP, and Samajwadi Party.

Imran Masood, born on April 21, 1971, in Gangoh, Uttar Pradesh, hails from a politically influential family. His uncle, former Union Minister Rashid Masood, has been a prominent figure in Indian politics. Over his 15-year political career, Imran Masood has traversed through several parties, including Congress, Samajwadi Party, and Bahujan Samaj Party, before returning to the Congress fold.

Masood entered politics in 2006 and quickly rose to prominence, serving as the president of the Saharanpur Municipal Council. He won his first assembly election from Muzaffarabad as an independent candidate in 2007. However, he faced defeat in the Nakur constituency in 2012, losing to the BSP’s Dharam Singh Saini.

Ahead of the 2014 general elections, Masood stirred controversy with inflammatory remarks directed towards then-prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi. His remarks led to his arrest for hate speech. Despite the controversy, he contested the Saharanpur Lok Sabha seat in 2014 but faced defeat at the hands of the BJP’s Lakhanpal.

Masood faced subsequent electoral defeats in the 2017 state assembly elections and the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, despite contesting from Saharanpur. His losses to BJP’s Dharam Singh Saini and BSP’s Haji Fazlur Rehman underscored the challenging electoral landscape in the region.

In the lead-up to the 2022 Uttar Pradesh assembly elections, Masood switched allegiance multiple times, moving from Congress to the Samajwadi Party and later to the Bahujan Samaj Party. However, his stint with BSP was short-lived, resulting in his expulsion for breaching party discipline. In 2023, he returned to Congress, terming it his “ghar wapsi” or homecoming.

Masood’s victory in Saharanpur reflects his resilience and political acumen amidst a competitive electoral landscape. His ability to navigate through shifting party affiliations and contesting against formidable opponents underscores his tenacity as a political leader.

As Masood prepares to represent Saharanpur in the Lok Sabha, he faces the task of addressing the pressing issues and concerns of his constituents. His win signals a new chapter in the political trajectory of Saharanpur, with hopes for effective representation and inclusive development in the region.

“I am deeply honoured by the trust and support of the people of Saharanpur,” Masood remarked in his victory speech. “I pledge to work tirelessly for the welfare and progress of every individual in our constituency. Together, we will strive towards a brighter future for Saharanpur.”

Masood’s triumph signifies a significant milestone in his political career and highlights the evolving dynamics of electoral politics in Uttar Pradesh. His journey from a young political entrant to a victorious MP reflects the intricacies and challenges inherent in Indian democracy.

Share post:


More like this

NTA Top Leadership Under Scanner, No Paper Leak in CSIR-NET: Dharmendra Pradhan

Amid a raging row over irregularities in the medical...

MP: Dispute Over Bhojshala-Kamal Maula Masjid Complex After Idol Discovery Claim

DHAR — A Hindu leader on Saturday claimed idols related...

98 Indians Among Hundreds Dead During Hajj Pilgrimage in Mecca: MEA

According to reports, more than 900 pilgrims have died...

NEET Row: Committee Formed Under Ex-ISRO Chief For Smooth Conduct of Exams

The committee will work under the Chairmanship of K....