Home Ministry Changes UAPA Rule to Declare 18 Individuals as Terrorists


Hizbul Mujhadeen chief Syed Salahuddin, associates of Hafiz Saeed and Dawood Ibrahim are part of the list

NEW DELHI – Government has declared 18 more individuals as terrorists under the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act, 1967 including Hizbul Mujhadeen chief Syed Salahuddin involved in the Mumbai terror attack as well as the IC 814 hijacking.

The MHA in a statement said that the central government had amended the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act, 1967 in August 2019, to include the provision of designating an individual as a terrorist.

“Prior to this amendment, only organizations could be designated as terrorist organizations,” the statement said.

“By invoking the said amended provision, the Central Government designated four individuals in September, 2019 and nine individuals in July, 2020 as terrorists,” it said.
Those who have been named include Syed Mohammad Yusuf Shah alias Syed Salahudeen, Pakistan-based, chief of Hizb-ul-Mujahideen and chairman, United Jihad Council (UJC).

Sajid Mir and Yusuf Muzammil, both Pakistan-based commander of LeT operations in Jammu & Kashmir and accused in the 26/11 Mumbai Terror attack. Abdur Rehman Makki, brother-in-law of LeT chief Hafiz Saeed, and head of LeT political affairs and served as head of LeT’s foreign relations department.

Shahid Mehmood, Pakistan-based deputy chief of the proscribed Falah-i-lnsaniyat Foundation (FIF), a frontal organisation of LeT.

Farhatullah Ghori, Pakistan-based terrorist who is alleged to be involved in attack on Akshardham Temple (2002) and suicide attack on Task Force office in Hyderabad (2005).
Abdul Rauf Asghar, Pakistan-based terrorist believed to be involved in setting up of training camps in Pakistan for recruitment and militant training and key conspirator in the terrorist attack (13.12.2001) on the Indian Parliament as well as hijacking of the Indian Airlines Flight No. lC-814 on December 24, 1999.

The others are Yusuf Azhar, Shahid Latif, Ghulam Nabi Khan, Zaffar Hussain Bhatt – all Pakistan-based terrorist

Pakistan-based, Founder member of terrorist organization “Indian Mujahideena, Riyaz Ismail Shahbandri, and Iqbal Bhatkal Involved in various terrorist acts in India are also declared terrorist under UAPA.

The agency has also named in the list Chhota Shakeel, Pakistan-based associate of Dawood Ibrahim, Mohammad Anis Shaikh and Ibrahim Memon alias Tiger Memon.

The MHA has also named Javed Chikna @ Javed Dawood Tailor, another associate of Dawood Ibrahim. – IANS


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here