Gujarat Assembly Polls: Three Muslims Manage to Win, One Up From 2012


According to the 2011 census, Muslims comprises the biggest minority in Gujarat with a 9.65 per cent of the population.. — File photo

Caravan News

AHMEDABAD — Three Muslim candidates have managed to emerge victorious in the Gujarat Assembly elections notwithstanding the bitter, polarising electoral campaign run by the governing Bharatiya Janata Party. The Congress Party had fielded six candidates from the community.

Imran Khedawala of the Congress won the Jamalpur-Khadia constituency in Ahmedabad with a margin of 29,339 votes. Gyasuddin Habibuddin Shekh, also of Congress, won from Dariyapur constituency in the state capital with a margin of 6,187 votes.

Another Congress candidate Mohammad Javed Pirzada was declared winner on the Wankaner seat with a margin of 1,361 votes.

In the outgoing Assembly, there had been only two Muslims:

Won/Leading Muslim Candidates in Gujarat

Seat Candidate Party Leading/Trailing
Jamalpur-Khadia Imran Khedawala Congress Won
Wankaner Mohammad Javed Pirzada Congress Won
Dariyapur Gyasuddin Habibuddin Shekh Congress Won

Updated:11:00 PM, December 18, 2017  – Election Commission of India

In the 2012 Gujarat Assembly elections, the Congress had fielded seven Muslim candidates but only two could win – Gyasuddin Habibuddin Shekh from Dariyapur seat in Ahmedabad and Pirzada Mahamadjavid Abdul Mutalib from Wankaner constituency in the Morbi district. Both were fielded from the same seats this time also.

The Muslim voters are said to have been in a position to influence outcome in 18 Assembly constituencies in the state. However, both the BJP and Congress have, over the years, given fewer and fewer tickets to Muslim candidates. This time Congress has fielded only six Muslim candidates while BJP has not given ticket to Muslims.

Muslim Representation in Gujarat Assembly (1995 – 2017)

Year Muslim Winners Seats in Assembly % of Assembly Strength
1995 01 182 0.54
1998 05 182 2.74
2002 03 182 1.64
2007 05 182 2.74
2012 02 182 1.09
2017 03 182  1.64


In 1980, some 17 Muslim candidates had entered the electoral fray and in best of their performance ever, one dozen of them won and entered the Gujarat Assembly. At that time, three Muslim Rajya Sabha MPs were also from Gujarat.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:




More like this

Why U-turn on Rohingya, Asaduddin Owaisi Asks Govt

Owaisi demanded to know why the Union home ministry...

Allahabad HC Questions Delay in Registering Crime Against Women Cases

PRAYAGRAJ -- The Allahabad High Court has questioned the delays...

CBI Seizes Documents, Devices During Raid at Residence of Delhi’s Deputy-CM Manish Sisodia

CBI teams were also raiding the house of former...

Demolition Drive Triggers Midnight Tension in Andhra Town

The local residents staged a strong protest. They argued...