Congress’s Mohammed Jawed Leading in Kishanganj; JD(U)’s Mehmood Ashraf Trails


Caravan News

KISHANGANJ – In Bihar’s Kishanganj constituency, Congress’s Mohammed Jawed is leading while JD(U)’s Mehmood Ashraf is trailing. AIMIM’s Akhtrul Iman is on the third position.

Earlier, Ashraf was leading and Jawed was trailing. At afternoon, Jawed overtook Ashraf.

According to the latest trends till 4 PM, Ashraf has secured 299362 while Jawed received 320033 and Iman got 246251. The fight is neck to neck and it may turn around again.

Kishanganj is a Lok Sabha / Parliamentary constituency in East Bihar region of Bihar in East India which has around 70 per cent Muslims. This rural general constituency has an estimated Scheduled Caste population of 6.29% and a Scheduled Tribe population of 2.88%. The estimated literacy level of Kishanganj is 51.39%. In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, there were a total of eligible electors and the voter turnout was calculated at %. The seat went to the polls on Phase 2 on Thursday, April 18, 2019.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Mohd Asrarul Huq of INC won in this seat by defeating the BJP candidate by a margin of 1,94,612 votes which was 20.96% of the total votes polled in the constituency. INC had a vote share of 53.15% in 2014 in the seat. There were a total of 10 contestants in 2014.

In 2009, Mohammad Asrarul Haque of INC emerged victorious in this seat by defeating the JDU candidate by a margin of 80,269 votes which was 12.80% of the total votes polled. INC had a vote share of 38.19% in 2019, in the constituency. There were 15 contestants in 2009.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here