Civil Society Cries Foul Over Israel’s Inhuman Actions Against Palestinians

Israel Strikes Gaza

Summon Israeli envoy and convey the feelings of millions of Indian citizens, says declartion issued by nearly 100 signatories

Team Clarion

NEW DELHI – Close to 100 Indian civil society organizations and individuals have demanded immediate end to inhuman and uncivilised actions of the Israeli regime against the Palestinians and Al Aqsa Mosque. In a declaration, the signatories have expressed the concerns of the “justice and peace-loving people of India” over the “outrageous, inhuman and uncivilized actions” of the Israeli regime against the Palestinians.

They have demanded from the government of India to summon the Israeli envoy and convey the feelings of millions of citizens. They have also urged the government to use its good offices in pressurizing the Israeli government to immediately halt its violent and outrageous actions against the Palestinians.

Following are the excerpts from the declaration:

The enforced displacement of the Palestinians from their homes in Sheikh Jarrah neighbourhood and other localiteis to enable settler colonialism and the storming of Al Aqsa mosque by the Israeli police during the auspicious month of Ramadhan and the resultant injuries to the scores of peaceful worshippers has sent waves of shock and trauma in the Muslim communities and the whole civilized world.
The signatories of this declaration believe that the actions of Israeli regime constitute racism and apartheid. Such actions find backing neither from the international laws nor the universal values of a civilized society. Except for the racist laws which the Israeli regime takes pride in, no human society can condone such barbaric and inhuman deeds.
The provocation by armed forces leading to violence, chaos and repression of the occupied population, during the times of a pandemic is a serious crime against humanity. Hence, it is incumbent upon the United Nations, International Court of Justice, justice loving countries of the world, human rights organisations, NGOs, media houses, activists, etc. to take cognizance of the situation and exert maximum pressure to make the Israeli regime mend its ways.
The sanctity of Masjid Al Aqsa, the third holiest mosque in Islam, knows no bounds in the hearts of the believers. Any irresponsible action violating the sanctity of the site shall have a global repercussion. Hence, the government of Israel must be well cautious to not attempt any such mis-adventure.
The signatories of this declaration call upon the government of India to summon the Israeli envoy and convey the feelings of millions of peace and justice loving citizens of this country. The government of India is requested to use its good offices in pressurizing the Israeli government to immediately halt its violent and outrageous actions against the Palestinians.
The signatories of this declaration call upon the Israeli government to immediately halt its inhuman and racist policies by restoring the sanctity of Masjid Al Aqsa and ordering to stop the evictions of Palestinians in Sheikh Jarrah and elsewhere.
This declaration calls for immediate ceasefire and restoration of peace.
Following organizations and individuals have signed the declaration
1. All India Muslim Majlis-e-Mushawarat
2. All India Muslim Personal law Board (AIMPLB)
3. Jamaat-e-Islami Hind (JIH)
4. Jamiat Ulma-e-Hind
5. Jamiat Ahle Hadees
6. Maulana Syed Jalaluddin Umri – Chairman Sharia council, India
7. Ashok Bharti, Chairman, All India Ambedkar Mahasabha , Delhi.
8. Uzma Naheed, Chairperson, IIWA
9. Maulana khaled Saifullah Rahmani – General Secretary, AIMPLB
10. Maulana Sajjad Nomani, spokesperson of AIMPLB
11. Syed Sadatullah Hussaini, President, JIH
12. Dr John Dayal , General Secretary, Indian Catholics Council
13. Navaid Hamid, President, AIMMM
14. Syed Jalal Hyder Naqwi, VP, All India Shia Council.
15. Dr Zafarul-Islam Khan, former Chairman, Delhi Minorities Commission
16. Dr.Shakeel Ahmad khan, Congress MLA, Bihar; Secretary, AICC
17. Maulana Tauqir Raza
18. Maulana Abdul Hameed Nomani
19. Hafiz Syed Ather Ali, Nazim, Jamia Muhammadia, Mumbai
20. Mahmood Daryabadi, VP, Ulema Council, Mumbai.
21. Prof. Aporvanand, Delhi University
22. Anjali Sen
23. Prof Akhtarul Wasey, President, Udaipur University
24. Prof Haseena Hashiya, V , Milli Council
25. Syed Naseer Hussain, MP, Indian National Congress
26. Mufti Razeq, Jamiat Ulema-e-Hind
27. Aditya Nigam
28. Kunwar Danish, MP, Bahujan Samaj Party
29. Shudhbrta Sen Gupta
30. Md Saleem, former MP, CPI(M)
31. Biswajit Bora
32. Meghanad Bose – Quint
33. Asaduddin Owaisi, MP, AIMIM
34. Mohsin Taqwi, Imam and Khatib, Shia Jame Masjid, Delhi .
35. Dr Manzoor Alam, Sec Gen, All India Milli Council.
36. Aakir Ali Tyagi
37. Hilmi Kabeer
38. Sheeba Aslam Fehmi
39. Nadeem Khan, United Against Hate
40. Salman Ahmed – President, SIO of India
41. Dr. S.Q.R. Ilyas, President, Welfare Party of India
42. Malik Motasim Khan, – Gen. Sec., APCR
43. Kaushik Raj, poet
44. Ayush Shah
45. Ravi Niar, Executive Director, South Asia Human Rights Documentation Centre
46. Prashant Tondon. Sr Journalist
47. Mr Anil Chamadiaji . Sr journalist
48. Laeeq Ahmed – Democracy Dialogue
49. Anees Ahmad, National General Secretary. Popular Front of India
50. M.K. Faizy. National President, Social Democratic Party of India
51. M.S. Sajid, National President, Campus Front of India
52. Mitali Shah
53. Mufti Hanif Ahrar, National General Secretary, All India Imams Council
54. Adv. Ansar Indori, NCHRO
55. Syed Anas Abdullah, Human Welfare Council
56. Monisa Qadiri, Faculty Member, IUST
57. Nivedita Menon, JNU
58. Zakir Ali Tyagi, National Confederation of Human Rights Organization (NCHRO)
59. Shubhabrata Sengupta, Artist and Writer
60. Shamseer Ibrahim, president, Fraternity Movement
61. Rahul Singh, Freelance Business
62. Shaheen Nazar, Executive Editor, Clarion India
63. Farooq Hussain Bhat, Academic, IUST
64. Yusra, student, Miranda House, Delhi
65. Poojan Sahil, Musician and Educator
66. Richa Sharma, Researcher
67. Mohd Fazil, scholar, Jamia Millia Islamia
68. Somak Paul. Assistant Professor
69. Mehdi Hasan Aini Qasmi, Chairmain, Deoband Alumni Federation (Tanzeem Abna-e-Madaris Welfare Educational Trust )
70. Umer Iqbal, Ph.D Scholar
71. Rufsana Begum, Education Development Association India
72. Nikhat Fatima, Lawyer, Civil liberties Monitoring Committee
73. Bareera Eiman, Civil Society of India
74. Abdulhafiz Lakhani, Editor,
75. Sharifa Siddiqui, United Citizens Forum
76. Parvin Lasania, Counseling Psychologist
77. Shiba Minai, UCF Journalist/Activist
78. Rushda Siddiqui, Working President, Delhi Mahila Federation
79. Mohammed Hanief, CIWS Lawyer
80. Lateef Mohammed Khan, Civil liberties Monitoring Committee General Secretary
81. Aditya Nigam, CSDS, Delhi
82. Kashif Mohammad, IAMC
83. Mohammad Asif, India Today Group
84. Biswajit K Bora, Delhi University
85. Aaris Mohammed, Center for Social and Constitutional Studies
86. Javed Ali Khan, former MP, Rajya Sabha


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here