BJP Stalwarts Fail to Impress Delhiites, as AAP is Set to Score Big Win


Celebrations broke out at the AAP headquarters.

Clarion India

NEW DELHI — Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal seems to be in a comfortable position to score a hat-trick in Delhi Assembly polls as the counting is in progress.

The ruling Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Tuesday managed to hold its ground in all the seven Lok Sabha seats of the national capital despite facing stiff competition from the BJP in the 2020 Delhi assembly polls.

As per the early trends, the AAP was leading in 58 seats while the BJP was leading on 12 seats and the Congress on one seat in the national capital.

Celebrations broke out at the AAP headquarters in New Delhi as early vote-counting trends for the Delhi Assembly polls on Tuesday showed a comfortable victory for the Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal-led party.

The elections for the 70-member Delhi polls were held on February 8 and over 62.59 per cent turnout was recorded.

According to the early trends, the AAP was leading on 8 seats in the Chandani Chowk Lok Sabha area, while the BJP and the Congress managed to gain its ground on one seat each.

Even in east Delhi Lok Sabha seat, the AAP was leading on over seven assembly seats, while the BJP was leading on three seats.

Similarly, the AAP is also the front runner from the New Delhi Lok Sabha seat taking lead in seven, while the BJP is leading on three seats.

The BJP also gained ground in the south Delhi and the northeast Delhi as the party was leading on two seats each in both the Lok Sabha constituencies, while the AAP is leading on seven seats, each in both the parliamentary constituencies respectively.

In West Delhi, the BJP got its foothold in over 3 seats while the AAP was leading in 6 seats. The AAP also managed a lead on nine seats from the northwest Lok Sabha seats while the BJP managed lead on one seat.

Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, who contested from New Delhi assembly seat was leading by over 2,000 votes to BJP’s Sunil Yadav, but the CM’s front-line lieutenants are embroiled in nail-biters. Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia is trailing against BJP’s Ravinder Singh Negi in Patparganj.

In Greater Kailash assembly seat, AAP’s Saurabh Bharadwaj was leading by over 1,500 votes to BJP’s Shikha Roy.

From Rajendra Nagar assembly seat, AAP’s Raghav Chadha was also leading by over 2200 votes to BJP’s Sardar R.P. Singh.

In 2015 assembly polls, the AAP had won 67 out of 70 seats.

The battle for control of the capital saw the AAP battle the Bharatiya Janata Party, whose high-pitched campaign was led by home minister Amit Shah and was supported by other stalwarts of the party who did campaigning on the ground.

The Congress which ruled the city for 15 years from 1998 to 2013 scored a nil in the 2015 elections and the BJP managed to win three seats.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:




More like this

‘Heart-Breaking Facts, Perverse Order’: SC Sets aside HC Verdict on Discharge of Rape Accused

NEW DELHI - The Supreme Court, terming the facts of...

Imran Khan Says His Chief of Staff Was Sexually Abused in Police Custody

ISLAMABAD - PTI Chairman Imran Khan on Friday demanded justice...

Congress Defers its Rally against Price Rise to Sept 4 Due to Covid Spike

NEW DELHI - The Congress has deferred its proposed...

PUCL Demands Revocation of Remission amid Outrage over release of Bilkis’ Rapists

The People’s Union for Civil Liberties described the Gujarat...