Site icon Clarion India

BJP Set to Retain Power in Arunachal Pradesh, SKM Likely to Secure Victory in Sikkim

NEW DELHI — The BJP government in Arunachal Pradesh, led by Chief Minister Pema Khandu, seems poised to retain power as they have crossed the majority mark, leading in 30 seats in the initial trends. Additionally, the BJP has already secured 10 seats uncontested in the state. Chief Minister Pema Khandu and Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein have also secured victories in their respective constituencies.

According to data from the Election Commission, the Bharatiya Janata Party is leading in 30 seats in Arunachal Pradesh, including areas like Lumla, Kalaktang, Koloriang, Nacho, Likabali, Basar, Along (West), and Along (East). The majority mark in the Arunachal Assembly is 31 seats, Vartha Bharati reported.

Other parties leading include the National People’s Party (NPEP) with eight seats, People’s Party of Arunachal (PPA) with two seats, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) with three seats, Congress with one seat, and Independents leading in two seats.

In the 2019 Assembly elections, the BJP secured 41 seats in Arunachal Pradesh. The Janata Dal (United) won seven seats, the National People’s Party (NPP) secured five, Congress won four, and the People’s Party of Arunachal (PPA) secured one seat. Two independents also emerged victorious. All except one Congress MLA, former Chief Minister Nabam Tuki, joined the BJP.

Meanwhile, in Sikkim, the ruling Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) is on track for a comfortable victory, having won 7 seats already and leading in 24 seats. The opposition Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) is leading in one seat.

Polling for 32 assembly seats in Sikkim took place simultaneously with the Lok Sabha elections on April 19. In the 2019 Assembly elections, the SKM won 17 seats, while the SDF secured 15 seats. Exit polls predict the return of the SKM to power in the state.

Exit mobile version