BJP-led NDA Loses in 12 out of 15 Lok Sabha/Assembly Seats

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah

Caravan News

NEW DELHI: Out of the 15 Lok Sabha/ Assembly seats that went to by-polls in 10 states, BJP-led NDA has lost 12 seats, including the five it had won in the last polls.

The elections for 4 Lok Sabha and 11 Assembly seats were held on Monday and votes were counted on Thursday. Congress-led UPA has won 12 seats (2 Lok Sabha and 10 Assembly seats) while BJP-led NDA could win only 3 seats – 2 Lok Sabha and 1 Assembly seats.

All the four Lok Sabha seats were won by BJP or its ally in the previous poll. But in the by-poll this week, the NDA could retain only two and lost two – one each to RLD in Kairana in Uttar Pradesh and NCP in Bhandara-Gondiya in Maharashtra.

Out of the 11 Assembly seats that went to poll, BJP was holding two and its ally JD-U and SAD one each in Bihar and Punjab respectively. However, in this poll, while BJP retained one and lost one, its allies lost their seats.

The biggest setback for BJP came from Kairana Lok Sabha seat in Uttar Pradesh where its candidate was defeated with huge margin by Begum Tabassum Hasan, the RLD candidate who was backed by all major Opposition parties including SP, BSP and Congress.

Of the 12 seats (2 Lok Sabha and 10 Assembly seats) won by Congress-led UPA, 4 was won by Congress alone, 2 by JMM in Jharkhand and one each by SP, RLD, RJD, CPI-M, TMC and NCP.

Constituency Winner Party Previous Winning Party
1 Kairana (Lok Sabha)

Uttar Pradesh

Begum Tabassum Hasan RLD BJP
2 Bhandara-Gondiya (Lok Sabha) Maharashtra Kukade M Yashwantrao NCP BJP
3 Palghar (Lok Sabha) Maharashtra Gavit Rajendra Dhedya BJP BJP
4 Nagaland (Lok Sabha) Tokheho NDPP NDPP
1 Jokihat (Assembly)


Shahnawaz Alam RJD JD-U
2 Gomia (Assembly)


Babita Devi JMM JMM
3 Silli (Assembly)


Seema Devi JMM JMM
4 Chengannur (Assembly)


Saji Cheriyan CPI-M CPI-M
5 Noorpur (Assembly)

Uttar Pradesh

Naim Ul Hasan SP BJP
6 Tharali (Assembly)


Munni Devi Shah BJP BJP
7 Palus Kadegaon (Assembly)


Vishwajeet Patangrao Congress Congress
8 Ampati (Assembly)


Minai D. Shira Congress Congress
9 Shahkot (Assembly)


Hardev Singh Ladi Congress SAD
10 Maheshtala (Assembly)

West Bengal

Dulal Chandra Das TMC TMC
11 Rajarajeshwari Nagar (Assembly)


Munirathna Congress Congress

Updated at 5:04 PM, 31 May 2018





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here