Bihar Assembly Polls: AIMIM Releases First List of 32 Seats, Likely to Fight Alone

AIMIM’s press conference held in Kishanganj, Bihar.

Clarion India

PATNA — Hyderabad MP Asaduddin Owaisi’s All India Majlis-e Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) on Wednesday released a list of 32 Assembly seats where it will field candidates in the upcoming Bihar elections. AIMIM Bihar president Akhtarul Iman has hinted the party will fight the polls alone.

“The ruling alliance and opposition are fighting against each other’s 15-15 year regime but we are fighting against 15-15 year regimes and 40 year regime. While NDA and RJD have to give account for their regimes of 15 years, Congress will have to answer for 40 years,” said Akhtarul Iman at a press conference in Kishanganj district, around 400 km from the state capital, giving a hint that AIMIM will fight against the triangle of BJP-led alliance, RJD and Congress. AIMIM’s Bihar Youth president Adv Aadil Hasan was also present at the press conference.

In Bihar assembly by-poll in October 2019, Owaisi’s party had opened its account in the state assembly as its candidate Qamarul Hoda won the Kishanganj seat by defeating BJP candidate Sweety Singh with a margin of over 11,000 votes. The ruling JDU of Nitish Kumar had backed the BJP candidate.

“Since after Independence, these parties have only deceived the people of the state and exploited the poor and farmers. Illiteracy, unemployment and corruption have ruined the state whose worst results were exposed by the miseries of the stranded migrant workers of Bihar during the Covid-19 pandemic,” said Iman in a press statement.

He also took on so-called secular parties.

“The poison of communalism is spreading day by day and the parties that call themselves secular are not speaking much…there is a need for a political alternative for Bihar and its people for which AIMIM is in contact with like-minded parties,” he said.

Iman said that the first list of 32 seats has been prepared after consultation with AIMIM chief Asaduddin Owaisi and the party will soon release list of other seats. The 32 seats are spread in 22 districts including Katihar, Purnia, Araria, Darbhanga and Patna. The party has not announced names of candidates.

Bihar Assembly has 243 seats.

In the 2015 Assembly polls, RJD had won 80 seats, JDU 71 seats and Congress 27 seats. As they had fought the elections as an alliance, they formed a coalition government and Nitish became Chief Minister and RJD’s Tejashwi Yadav Deputy CM. BJP had won only 53 seats in the elections. However, in July 2017, Nitish broke the alliance and formed new government with support of BJP. One month later, his party also joined the central government of BJP-led NDA.

For the upcoming Assembly polls, the ruling NDA has already launched its campaign. On June 7, BJP chief Amit Shah, who has maintained low-profile during the two and half month-long Coronavirus-driven lockdown, addressed his voters in Bihar through videoconferencing. His party had reportedly set up 72,000 LED screens across the state for this virtual rally.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here