Begum Tabassum and Naim Ul Hasan Defeat BJP in Yogi’s Uttar Pradesh

Begum Tabassum Hasan contesting as candidate of united opposition in Kairana Lok Sabha by-polls

Caravan News

LUCKNOW: Despite hard efforts by Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath for communal polarization and Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s eleventh-hour politically-motivated roadshow and rally to please voters, the BJP has received humiliating defeat both in the prestigious Kairana Lok Sabha constituency and Noorpur Assembly seat. Both seats were won by the saffron party in the previous polls.

The Kairana seat was won by RLD candidate Begum Tabassum Hasan. She was supported by all major Opposition parties including SP, BSP and Congress. BJP had fielded Mriganka Singh, daughter of its leader Hukum Singh whose death had necessitated the by-poll.

In the Noorpor Assembly seat, Naim Ul Hasan of Samajwadi Party has defeated the BJP candidate. Hasan was also backed by other Opposition parties.

Besides Uttar Pradesh, BJP has lost a Lok Sabha seat in Maharashtra to NCP candidate backed by Congress. BJP allies JD-U in Bihar and SAD in Punjab has lost two Assembly seats to RJD and Congress respectively.

In the BJP-ruled Jharkhand, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha was able to retain two Assembly seats while TMC and CPI-M retained one seat each in West Bengal and Kerala respectively.


  Constituency Winner Party Previous Winning Party
1 Kairana (Lok Sabha)

Uttar Pradesh

Begum Tabassum Hasan (Wins) RLD BJP
2 Bhandara-Gondiya (Lok Sabha) Maharashtra Kukade M Yashwantrao (Leading) NCP BJP
3 Palghar (Lok Sabha) Maharashtra Gavit Rajendra Dhedya (wins) BJP BJP
4 Nagaland (Lok Sabha) Tokheho (Leading) NDPP NDPP
1 Jokihat (Assembly)


Shahnawaz Alam (wins) RJD JD-U
2 Gomia (Assembly)


Babita Devi (wins) JMM JMM
3 Silli (Assembly)


Seema Devi (wins) JMM JMM
4 Chengannur (Assembly)


Saji Cheriyan (wins) CPI-M CPI-M
5 Noorpur (Assembly)

Uttar Pradesh

Naim Ul Hasan (wins) SP BJP
6 Tharali (Assembly)


Munni Devi Shah (Leading) BJP BJP
7 Palus Kadegaon (Assembly)


Vishwajeet Patangrao (wins) Congress Congress
8 Ampati (Assembly)


Minai D. Shira (wins) Congress Congress
9 Shahkot (Assembly)


Hardev Singh Ladi (wins) Congress SAD
10 Maheshtala (Assembly)

West Bengal

Dulal Chandra Das (Leading) TMC TMC
11 Rajarajeshwari Nagar (Assembly)


Munirathna (wins) Congress Congress

Updated at 2:04 PM, 31 May 2018




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here