Award in Name of Syed Shahabuddin to Recognise Distinguished Services to Society

Syed Shahabuddin, an Indian politician, journalist and diplomat, died on March 4, 2017. — File photo

Pervez Bari | Caravan Daily

BHOPAL — In memory of late Syed Shahabuddin, who was a leading politician, member of Parliament, diplomat, community leader, thinker, columnist, editor and writer, an award has been instituted to honour prominent Indian citizens, institutions or organisations having a record of outstanding contribution to society in any service field.

Born in 1935, in Ranchi, Jharkhand, Shahabuddin began working as a diplomat for the Indian Foreign Service (IFS), but later joined politics. He served three terms from 1979-1996 as a Member of Parliament. He is well known for his involvement in the Shah Bano case and his opposition to the demolition of the Babri Masjid.

The award has been instituted by Popular Front of India and carries an amount of Rs.100,000/- (rupees one lakh) as a token of appreciation

The first award will be given this year for the year 2018 for which September 25, 2019 has been fixed as the last date for submitting profile and suggestions. The award will be given once in every two years.

Maulana Muhammad Wali Rahmani, general secretary of All India Muslim Personal Law Board, has been nominated as the Chairman of the jury to select the recipient of the award.

Other members of the jury are: Dr. Zafarul Islam Khan (Chairman, Delhi State Minority Commission); Ms Parveen Amanullah (Ex Bihar State Minister, Daughter of Syed Shahabuddin); Mr. Ravi Nair Secretary, NCHRO; Dr. Haseena Hashia (Professor, Jamia Millia Islamia); Abdul Wahid Sait (Secretary, Popular Front of India) and E M Abdul Rahiman (Convener).

Nominations with profiles are invited from public to help the jury in selection process through e-mail on [email protected].


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here